Guidelines for sessions : ICSS2017

Guidelines for sessions

  • Each session may be ½-day (3 hours) or ¼-day (1.5 hours).
  • Every Knowledge-Action Network is welcome to submit multiple session concepts to the Conference. Note that there is a limit to the number of session slots available.
  • Knowledge-Action Networks are encouraged to submit in combination – to show synergies or to address tradeoffs.

Structure for the session proposals

The proposal should be ca 1-2 A4 pages and include:

  • Title of the session
  • Future Earth KANs where the session fits in terms of areas addressed
  • A description of a coherent and focused session topic. It must clarify the goals and the relevance of the Session, define a leading question, key issues, and the scientific relevance of the session in the context of the SDGs and the HLPF 2018 topic.
  • Proposed session design and overview of activities with short motivation
  • Proposed list of speakers, panel members, facilitators and other key persons. Note: The conference has limited funding available for travellers from specific countries so please include country of residence and indicate who should be considered for support. The conference invitation strategy is based both on winning proposals and geographic, gender and generational balance. For this reason, please describe how your team adds to the diversity of the conference.
  • Preliminary schedule for the session
  • Special requirements for the session (e.g. equipment, room type).
  • Describe which SDGs that will be most relevant for the session
  • Personal details for the chair and other session organizers (name, professional affiliation, telephone number, e-mail address).

Criteria for session selection

Session proposals will be selected by a Programme Planning Committee on the basis of the need to organize a well-balanced programme and according to the following criteria:

  • Relevance of the session for the focal SDGs and for the Knowledge-Action Networks
  • Novelty/innovation of the topic and content
  • Structure and organization of the session. Interactive sessions are preferred over those with passive audiences.
  • Interdisciplinarity; inclusion of a wide array of disciplinary expertise. Stakeholder inclusion is an additional benefit.
  • Equality in representation of gender, North-South origin, and early and advanced career researchers.
  • Inclusive process; that the process to develop the session has been open for many to contribute to, for instance through the Open Network.

Applying and contact

Please inform the Future Earth secretariat coordinator for each respective Knowledge-Action Network about session proposals that are being prepared. The coordinators and development teams have an oversight of what is being proposed, they can link initiatives and endorse proposals that are well in line with each Knowledge-Action Network.

You can apply online through the application form below. Or send your (1-2 page) proposal, or direct the questions you may have regarding ICSS sessions, to Erik Pihl, Research Liaison Officer at the Future Earth secretariat hub in Sweden, copying the relevant KAN Coordinator:

Erik Pihl
erik.pihl@futureearth.org
+46 8 6739 777 (phone) / +46 73 037 7372 (cell)

KAN coordinators

  • Food Water Energy Nexus | Jon Padgham | jpadgham@start.org
  • Health | Fumiko Kasuga | Fumiko.Kasuga@futureearth.org
  • Urban | Jean-Patrick Toussaint | jeanpatrick.toussaint@futureearth.org
  • Natural Assets | Hannah Moersberger | hannah.moersberger@futureearth.org
  • SDGs | Erik Pihl | erik.pihl@futureearth.org
  • Transformations | Rebecca Oliver | rebecca.oliver@futureearth.org
  • Oceans | Craig Starger | craig.starger@futureearth.org
  • Sustainable Finance & Economics | David Oram | david.oram@futureearth.org
  • Sustainable Systems of Production and Consumption | Hein Mallee | hmallee@chikyu.ac.jp
  • Emergent Risks | Markus Reichstein | mreichstein@bgc-jena.mpg.de
  • Decarbonisation | Erik Pihl | erik.pihl@futureearth.org